Instant Access to State, County and Municipal Records
Are Utah Vital Records Open to the Public?
In compliance with the Utah Government Records Access and Management Act, access to vital records is typically restricted to subjects named on the record, the subject’s parents or legal guardians and any other parties who can prove a direct and tangible interest in the record. However, most vital records in the state become public after a period of at least 50 years from the date the record was created.
What Information Do I Need to Search for Utah Vital Records Online?
When carrying out online searches for vital records, interested parties will be required to provide certain information that is necessary to facilitate the search. This information typically includes:
- Name of the subject on the record
- The date the vital event occurred
- The city or county the event occurred
- Name and contact information of the requestor
- The reason the record is being requested
Some record specific information may also be required, such as the subject’s date of birth or the location of the court proceeding when searching for birth records and divorce records respectively.
Publicly available vital records are also accessible from some third-party websites.* These websites offer the benefit of not being limited by geographical record availability and can often serve as a starting point when researching a specific or multiple records. To find a record using the search engines on these sites, interested parties must provide:
- The name of someone involved providing it is a not a juvenile
- The assumed location of the record in question such as a city, county, or state name
*Third-party sites are not government-sponsored websites, and record availability may differ from official channels.
What Do I Need to Obtain Utah Vital Records?
Parties who wish to obtain Utah vital records will be required to provide a valid form of identification, usually a government-issued photo ID. In addition to this, requestors will also be required to pay any applicable fees before copies of records may be obtained.
What’s the difference between a Certified Record and Informational Copy?
Certified copies of records in the state of Utah are endorsed true copies of the record and may be used for official, legal and commercial purposes while informational copies of the same records have no official, commercial or legal uses.
Are Utah Marriage Records Public Information?
Marriage records in the state of Utah only become public information after 75 years. Certificates for marriages that occurred within a 75 year period from the date of request are typically issued to only the subjects on the record, their immediate family members or legal guardians and a legal representative of any of these parties.
How do I find marriage records in Utah?
Parties who wish to find and obtain Utah marriage records may do so online through a third-party service or by contacting the office of the county clerk in the county where the marriage license was issued. Finally, copies of marriage certificates for marriages that occurred between 1978-2010 may be obtained at the Utah Department of Health’s Office of Vital Records and Statistics located at
Cannon Health Bldg
288 North 1460 West
Salt Lake City UT 84116
Parties who wish to obtain records from this office will be required to complete and submit a Marriage/Divorce Certificate Request Form. This form can also be submitted via mail-in to
P.O. Box 141012
Salt Lake City UT 84114-1012
Mailed requests have an average processing time of 3 weeks. Certified copies of marriage records typically cost $18. This fee may vary depending on the county where the record is domiciled.
Are Utah Divorce Records Public Information?
Access to Utah divorce records ranging from the date the record was created to 75 years after their creation is typically restricted to only either the subjects on the records, members of their immediate family or their legal representatives. However, any divorce record older than 75 years is public information.
How do I find Divorce Records in Utah?
Parties interested in obtaining Utah divorce records may do so by contacting the clerk of court at the district court where the divorce was finalized. To aid requestors with this, the Utah judicial branch maintains a court directory from which contact information on these record custodians can be gleaned. Divorce records may also be obtained online via a third-party service or directly from the Utah state office of vital records and statistics by completing a Marriage/Divorce Certificate Request Form which may be submitted either in person or by mail. It should, however, be noted that this office only has records of divorces that occurred from 1978-2010.
Are Utah Birth Records Public Information?
Utah birth records become public information after 100 years. Access to birth records which are not public yet is restricted to the registrant, the registrant’s immediate family or legal guardians and a legal representative of any of these parties.
How Do I Find Utah Birth Records?
In addition to carrying out searches for, and obtaining copies of birth records online, interested parties may also obtain copies of birth certificates in person at any of the local health department vital records offices located in the state. These records can also be obtained by completing and submitting a Birth Certificate Application Form at the state office of vital records and statistics. The office of vital records and statistics maintains copies of records for births that occurred from 1905-date. These birth certificates cost $20, with an additional $10 for each copy of the same record ordered. It should be noted that this fee may vary depending on the method chosen to obtain these records.
Are Utah Death Records Open to the Public?
Death records become public information in the state of Utah after a period of 50 years. Certified copies of death records may only be obtained by parties who can provide proof of a direct, tangible and legitimate interest in the record.
How Do I Find Death Records in Utah?
Interested parties may obtain copies of death records in Utah in person by either visiting any local health department vital records office or directly from the state office of vital records and statistics. These records may also be obtained by mailing a completed Death Certificate Application Form to the state office. It should be noted that only records of deaths from 1905-date are available at the office of vital records and statistics. The fee required for obtaining copies of death records varies depending on the method chosen to obtain them. However, a certified copy of a death certificate in Utah typically costs $30 and extra copies of the same record cost $10.
How Do I Find Sealed Vital Records in Utah?
Adoption records in the state of Utah are sealed by state law and adoption decrees may only be requested by an adoptee who is at least 18 years old or the adoptive parent of the adoptee on the record. Any other party who wishes to access adoption records has to obtain a court order authorizing the unsealing of the records. Adult adoptees and parents of adoptees who wish to obtain any adoption record other than an adoption decree are also required to obtain a court order. Authorized parties who wish to access any of these records should contact the district court where the adoption proceeding was heard.
The state of Utah also maintains a mutual consent voluntary adoption registry which allows adoptees and birth parents to seek out each other. Interested parties who wish to register with this registry are required to complete an Adoption Registry Application Form which can be submitted in person or via mail at the state office of vital records and statistics. Interested parties will also be required to provide a valid photo ID and a copy of their certified birth certificate as well as a fee of $25.